ANGELINA COUNTY, Texas (KETK) – Several East Texas counties and cities have enacted burn bans due to dry conditions and fire risk.
When a county issues a burn ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited in that county. Below is a list of burn bans across East Texas:
The Anderson County burn ban was lifted on Sept. 18. The Anderson County Commissioners Court still encouraged taking “all precautions when burning” as some areas in the county are drier than others.
Previously, Anderson County Judge Carey McKinney issued a seven-day burn ban put into effect on July 20. On July 24, the commissioner’s court voted to extend the ban for 90 days until lifting it on Sept. 18.
Angelina County lifted their burn ban on Sept. 15, citing a lower risk for fire danger county-wide.
“This does not mean that people do not need to still be careful,” according to the Angelina County Office of Emergency Management. “There are still some places in the County that you need to be careful with fires.”
Angelina County Judge Keith Wright previously issued a burn ban and local state of disaster on July 20.
The Bowie County Commissioner’s Court unanimously authorized the County Judge to sign a burn ban. All outdoor burning is prohibited for 90 days from Aug. 15.
Cass County is under an emergency burn ban for seven days starting on Aug. 9. The commissioners court has plans to enact a 90-day burn ban soon.
Cherokee County Judge Chris Davis issued a burn ban and declaration of disaster with threat of wildfires on July 20.
The ban will be active for the next seven days unless extended by the county’s commissioner’s court, and bans the practice of outdoor burning. A violation of the order is a class c misdemeanor with a fine not to exceed $500.
Cherokee County’s burn ban is also in effect for the entire City of Troup, according to city officials.
Gregg County is under a burn ban starting on Aug. 7. It will be in effect for 90 days.
The Harrison County Commissioners Court issued a burn ban starting Aug. 7 that will be in effect for 90 days.
On Aug. 28, the Henderson County Commissioners Court extended the burn ban and disaster declaration for 28 days. A burn ban was initially issued on Aug. 1 for 28 days, then the county issued a local state of disaster on Aug. 22 that has now been extended.
The Hopkins County Commissioners Court issued a burn ban that will be active from Aug. 28 for 90 days.
Houston County Judge Tim Lovell declared a local state of disaster and issued a burn ban on July 19. According to the burn ban, the declaration of local disaster will continue for seven days unless renewed by the Commissioners Court.
Marion County Judge Leward J. LaFleur ordered a county-wide burn ban that went into effect at 5 p.m. on Aug 7. The burn ban will be in effect until Marion County receives substantial rainfall.
Morris County Judge Doug Reeder issued a burn ban for the county on Aug. 14 that went to effect immediately “for a period not to exceed 90 days.”
Nacogdoches County Judge Greg Sowell signed an updated declaration of disaster and order prohibiting outdoor burning that is set to expire 90 days from July 25 unless terminated early.
The order prohibits all outdoor burning with the exception of activities related to public health and safety.
Panola County issued an order ‘banning open fires, prohibition of outdoor burning’ on July 27 for the following seven days unless renewed by the Commissioners Court.
On Sept. 21, Polk County Judge Sydney Murphy extended the burn ban even though there has been some rainfall, it was not enough to lift the ban. The burn ban will continue until rescinded, but will need authorization from the commissioners court to continue for more than seven days.
On Oct. 10, lifting the outdoor burn ban will be discussed again by the court.
The Rains County Commissioner’s Court approved a burn ban in the county on Aug. 10. According to the county’s office of emergency management, no outdoor burning will be permitted except for agricultural burns and construction burns. They ask that you call dispatch to report those burns at 903-473-3181.
On July 27, Rusk County Judge Joel Hale issued a burn ban after the Texas Forest Service determined that drought conditions exist within the county.
The order will prohibit the use of any burning in an enclosed burn barrel/receptacle. Residents are allowed to use outdoor gas grills, charcoal grills and barbeque smokers that are completely enclosed.
The ban will be in effect for 90 days from July 27.
The Hemphill Volunteer Fire Department announced that a burn ban has been put into effect for all of Sabine County as of July 24.
SAN AUGUSTINE COUNTY
San Augustine County announced that a burn ban has been put into effect for the next 90 days or “until conditions improve enough for it to be lifted.”
The ban was put into place on July 25 for the entire county.
The Shelby County Sheriff’s Office said that a burn ban is in effect for Shelby County as of July 22.
The Smith County Commissioner’s Court issued a burn ban to go into effect on Aug. 1.
Trinity County Sheriff Woody Wallace announced on July 25 that a county-wide burn had gone into effect.
Upshur County has lifted their burn ban on unincorporated areas but a burn ban is still in place for the City of Big Sandy as of Sept. 15.
The Upshur County Judge issued a burn ban on Aug. 4 for 10 days, and the order said it may be extended by the commissioner’s court. It was extended on Aug. 31 to remain active through Sep. 15.
VAN ZANDT COUNTY
Van Zandt County issued a burn ban on Aug. 7 for 90 days, according to the Van Zandt County Fire Marshal.
The Wood County Commissioners Court issued a burn ban on Aug. 22 for 90 days.