ANGELINA COUNTY, Texas (KETK) – Several East Texas counties and cities have rescinded burn bans that were originally issued because of dry conditions and fire risk.
When a county issues a burn ban, all outdoor burning is prohibited in that county. Below is a list of burn bans across East Texas:
The Anderson County burn ban was lifted on Sept. 18. The Anderson County Commissioners Court still encouraged taking “all precautions when burning” as some areas in the county are drier than others.
Previously, Anderson County Judge Carey McKinney issued a seven-day burn ban put into effect on July 20. On July 24, the commissioner’s court voted to extend the ban for 90 days until lifting it on Sept. 18.
Angelina County lifted their burn ban on Sept. 15, citing a lower risk for fire danger county-wide.
“This does not mean that people do not need to still be careful,” according to the Angelina County Office of Emergency Management. “There are still some places in the County that you need to be careful with fires.”
Angelina County Judge Keith Wright previously issued a burn ban and local state of disaster on July 20.
Bowie County lifted their burn ban on Sept. 22. The declaration signed by County Judge Bobby Howell stated that they determined “that circumstances present in all or part of the unincorporated areas of Bowie County no longer create a public safety hazard that would be exacerbated by outdoor burning.”
The Bowie County Commissioner’s Court previously authorized the County Judge to sign a 90-day burn ban on Aug. 15.
Cass County lifted their burn ban on Sept. 22.
The county had previously enacted an emergency burn ban on Aug. 2 that was later extended.
The burn ban for Cherokee County was lifted on Sept. 28.
Cherokee County Judge Chris Davis issued a burn ban and declaration of disaster with threat of wildfires on July 20. A violation of the order is a class c misdemeanor with a fine not to exceed $500.
Cherokee County’s burn ban is also in effect for the entire City of Troup, according to city officials.
County Judge Bill Stoudt lifted the burn ban on Oct. 5.
Gregg County went under a burn ban starting on Aug. 7 set for 90 days.
Harrison County Judge Chad Sims lifted the burn ban on Sept. 27 that became effective at noon.
According to a statement released on Sept. 26 by the Hallsville Fire Department, the burn ban has been lifted for those in the city limits.
The Harrison County Commissioners Court issued a burn ban that began on Aug. 7.
Henderson County Commissioners lifted the burn ban on Sept. 26.
On Aug. 28, the commissioners court extended the burn ban and disaster declaration for 28 days. A burn ban was initially issued on Aug. 1 for 28 days, then the county issued a local state of disaster on Aug. 22 that has now been extended.
The burn ban was lifted by County Judge Robert Newsom on Sept. 25.
The Hopkins County Commissioners Court issued a burn ban that was from Aug. 28 for 90 days.
The burn ban over Houston County has been lifted.
Houston County Judge Tim Lovell declared a local state of disaster and issued a burn ban on July 19. According to the burn ban, the declaration of local disaster will continue for seven days unless renewed by the Commissioners Court.
Marion County Judge Leward J. LaFleur ordered that their county-wide burn ban was lifted on Sept. 25.
Marion County Judge Leward J. LaFleur ordered a county-wide burn ban that went into effect at 5 p.m. on Aug 7. The burn ban will be in effect until Marion County receives substantial rainfall.
Morris County Judge Doug Reeder lifted the burn ban for the county on Sept. 25 effective that day.
The burn ban had previously been issued on Aug. 14 and went to effect immediately “for a period not to exceed 90 days.”
The Nacogdoches County burn ban was lifted on Sept. 25.
Nacogdoches County Judge Greg Sowell signed an updated declaration of disaster and order prohibiting outdoor burning that was set to expire 90 days from July 25 unless terminated early.
The order prohibits all outdoor burning with the exception of activities related to public health and safety.
Panola County Judge Rodger McLane lifted the burn ban on Sept. 25.
The county previously issued an order ‘banning open fires, prohibition of outdoor burning’ on July 27.
The Polk County Commissioners Court rescinded their burn ban in an emergency session on Oct. 6, according to Polk County Emergency Management.
On Sept. 21, Polk County Judge Sydney Murphy extended the burn ban even though there has been some rainfall, it was not enough to lift the ban. The burn ban will continue until rescinded, but will need authorization from the commissioners court to continue for more than seven days.
Rains County Judge Linda Wallace issued an order rescinding a burn ban for the county on Sept. 25, according to the Rains County Clerk.
The Rains County Commissioner’s Court approved a burn ban in the county on Aug. 10. According to the county’s office of emergency management, no outdoor burning will be permitted except for agricultural burns and construction burns. They ask that you call dispatch to report those burns at 903-473-3181.
Rusk County Judge Joel Hale rescinded the burn ban on Sept. 25.
The burn ban had been issued on July 27 for 90 days.
The Hemphill Volunteer Fire Department announced that a burn ban has been put into effect for all of Sabine County as of July 24.
SAN AUGUSTINE COUNTY
County Judge Jeff Boyd announced the burn ban was lifted effective Oct. 10.
San Augustine County announced that a burn ban has been put into effect for the next 90 days or “until conditions improve enough for it to be lifted.”
The ban was put into place on July 25 for the entire county.
Shelby County’s burn ban was lifted on Sept. 29.
Previously, the Shelby County Sheriff’s Office said that a burn ban is in effect for Shelby County as of July 22.
Smith County Judge rescinded the burn ban on Sept. 26 citing recent rain.
The burn ban went into effect on Aug. 1.
The Trinity County Commissioners Court lifted the burn ban on Oct. 5.
Trinity County Sheriff Woody Wallace announced on July 25 that a county-wide burn had gone into effect.
Upshur County has lifted their burn ban on unincorporated areas but a burn ban is still in place for the City of Big Sandy as of Sept. 15.
The Upshur County Judge issued a burn ban on Aug. 4 for 10 days, and the order said it may be extended by the commissioner’s court. It was extended on Aug. 31 to remain active through Sep. 15.
VAN ZANDT COUNTY
Van Zandt County lifted their burn ban on Sept. 26.
Van Zandt County previously issued a burn ban on Aug. 7 for 90 days, according to the Van Zandt County Fire Marshal.
Wood County lifted their burn ban on Sept. 26.
The Wood County Commissioners Court had issued a burn ban on Aug. 22 for 90 days.