NACOGDOCHES, Texas (KETK) — Stephen F. Austin State University has officially become the 14th member of the University of Texas system, after a process that began over a year ago.

The selection process began last summer, by the fall SFA had made their decision to affiliate with University of Texas.

This transition was approved by the Texas Legislature in their most recent session and was signed by Gov. Abbott in May.