Report: Texas and OU exploring move to the SEC

Local Sports

DALLAS – OCTOBER 8: Running back Selvin Young #22 of the Texas Longhorns runs for a touchdown against Clint Ingram #44 of the Oklahoma Sooners on October 8, 2005 at the Cotton Bowl in Dallas, Texas. The Longhorns defeated the Sooners 45-12. (Photo by Ronald Martinez/Getty Images)

AUSTIN (KXAN) —Texas and Oklahoma are reportedly considering a move that could rock the college football landscape and start another saga of realignment in college athletics.

Brent Zwerneman from the Houston Chronicle was first to report that Longhorns and Sooners leadership have reached out on a potential move from the Big 12 to the Southeastern Conference.

Additionally, Zwerneman reports an announcement could come in a matter of weeks, according to a “high-ranking college official.”

A University of Texas spokesperson told KXAN — “speculation always swirls around collegiate athletics. We will not address rumors or speculation.”

SEC Commissioner Greg Sankey had “no comment” on the rumor.

Aggies head coach Jimbo Fisher was asked about the report Wednesday at SEC media days.

“I bet they would. I’m just worried about A&M. We got the greatest league in ball, that’s the choices they make or what they do, but I don’t know how I feel about it,” Fisher said.

According to 2020-21 SEC bylaws, “a vote of at least three-fourths of the members is required to extend an invitation for membership.”

If Texas and Oklahoma were to abandon the Big 12, the Longhorns and Aggies would be reunited on the playing field once again effectively creating college football’s first super conference with 16 teams.

The start of the Big 12 and past realignment

The Big 12 conference was officially founded in 1994 with 12 member schools. Texas, Texas A&M, Baylor and Texas Tech left the former Southwest Conference to join the Big 8 conference schools: Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Nebraska, Colorado, Missouri, Iowa State, Kansas and Kansas State.

Ten years ago, the conference began to shift.

Texas A&M announced it would leave the Big 12 for the SEC as multiple former Big 12 schools began to jump other conferences. Nebraska and Colorado were first to jump from the Big 12 in 2010, going to the Big Ten and Pac 12 respectively. Missouri announced its departure to the SEC in late 2011.

Down to eight teams, the Big 12 began its search for replacements — ultimately inviting TCU and West Virginia to join.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Right Now

Don't Miss

Community Calendar

KETK Twitter & Facebook

FOX51 Twitter & Facebook