UT Tyler softball rakes in conference postseason awards

Local Sports

Coach Mike Reed waves home Courtney Plocheck in a doubleheader sweep of Saint Edwards on April 18, 2021.

TYLER, Texas (KETK) – The UT Tyler softball team took home many of the top awards from the Lone Star Conference in their final transition season to be a full Division II member.

The LSC announced that head coach Mike Reed was named the Coach of the Year after leading the Patriots to a 27-3 conference record and a top-five finish in the national rankings. It was the 10th time in his career to earn Coach of the Year honors, dating back to their Division III days in the American Southwest Conference.

Reed helped start the program in 2005 and is the only head coach in team history. He has a career record of 645-128 with the Patriots. Reed has the fourth-highest career winning percentage across all NCAA divisions.

Sophomore Payton Foster, an East Texas native was named the LSC Pitcher of the Year. She finished a 1.11 ERA and threw a no-hitter against No. 9 Texas A&M-Commerce on May 1.

Senior pitcher Erin Hill, a USC Upstate transfer, was named the conference’s newcomer of the year. She finished with a 1.15 ERA along with 101 strikeouts and two no-hitters.

Listed below are other awards taken by Patriot softball players:

First Team All-Conference

  • Payton Foster, Pitcher
  • Erin Hill, Pitcher
  • Ashley Perez, Catcher

Second Team All-Conference

  • Haleigh Swinney, Center Field
  • Courtney Plocheck, Utility
  • Hanna Fradkin, Designated Player

Golden Glove Winners

  • Erin Hill, Pitcher
  • Haleigh Swinney, Centerfield


  • Tristen Anders, Outfield

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Right Now

Don't Miss

Community Calendar

KETK Twitter & Facebook

FOX51 Twitter & Facebook